2. About Us
  3. Kenjin-Tatsujin



Former Chairman of Carlsberg Group, Carlsberg Foundation, Tuborg Foundation and UNLEASH

Flemming Besenbacher is Chairman of the Carlsberg Group, the Carlsberg Foundation and the Tuborg Foundation. Mr. Besenbacher is Deputy Chairman of Innovation Fund Denmark and board member of Unisense A/S. In 2016 Mr. Besenbacher was appointed Chairman of the Danish Government’s Advisory Board for Circular Economy and was also appointed a member of the Danish Government’s Digital Growth Panel. He is a professor of Nanoscience, Aarhus University, and was the founding director of the Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Center (iNANO) from 2002-2012. Mr. Besenbacher is an internationally leading scientist within the field of nanoscience, he has published more than 700 scientific articles in international journals, several in Science and Nature and he is one of the most cited Danish scientists.

Mr. Besenbacher is an honorary doctor at 14 Chinese Universities and he has received several distinctions in Denmark and abroad for his research, for instance, “The Chinese Government Highest International Scientific and Technological Cooperation Award” of the People’s Republic of China.


He is also a foreign member of the Chinese Academy of Science and holds the title of Knight 1st Class of the Order of Dannebrog.

Donate to
Support Students

Donate Now

Follow Us

Official Social Media Accounts


Join our email newsletter

Stay up to date with all activities and opportunities.


Get in touch with Ashinaga

Any questions? Get in touch with Ashinaga though the contact form. Check our Frequently Asked Questions before proceeding and see if you can find what you are looking for.